Exactly Opposite of Christ

You’ve probably noticed the huge influx of life-coaches? It seems like everyone these days is trying to make money off of the hard-earned wisdom that they have gained through adversity. This may not seem like something to be irritated about, but I have to admit that it’s beginning to get under my skin. Let me explain:

Today a newer member of one of my LDS support groups posted a link to her website, along with a plug about her availability to be a life coach. I took a look at her site and saw that she has indeed been through quite a lot of adversity. She’s optimistic and hopeful and I applaud her. Truly. Examples of triumph are crucial to abuse survivors, heck! it’s why I blog and why I started support groups. But…..

The gospel of Jesus Christ teaches us about pain and healing. The difficult experiences that we go through allow us to increase our compassion because Christ has set the example for how to get through adversity. He was abused and persecuted for his entire life and yet he loved, supported and taught others without asking for anything in return, least of all money. No one makes it through an abusive childhood, or any trial without help from a higher power. I feel like it’s wrong to turn around and ask for money to help someone else when Christ helped us for free.

Charity is the pure love of Christ. You can’t, and honestly shouldn’t put a price on that.

Book of Mormon > Mosiah>Ch.2

12 I say unto you that as I have been suffered to spend my days in your service, even up to this time, and have not sought gold nor silver nor any manner of riches of you;

16 Behold, I say unto you that because I said unto you that I had spent my days in your service, I do not desire to boast, for I have only been in the service of God.

17 And behold, I tell you these things that ye may learn wisdom; that ye may learn that when ye are in the service of your fellow beings ye are only in the service of your God.

Help each other. Love each other. Turn to Christ and listen for the promptings of the Spirit. Remember that you have the power to choose happiness and peace. That said, if you are only looking for monetary compensation, that’s the only reward that you’ll receive. If you are still walking the path of healing be cautious of anyone who is asking you to pay for them to help you through the process. Professional mental health counselors/therapists, etc. have the training to give you support and love as well as the skills to cope with the emotions that are coursing though your brain.    – NL

img_2485

7 Comments

      1. I’ve thought about employing a life coach and being one. Something always held me back. Every life coach I’ve looked at, and I’ve looked at a lot, would be able to competently guide me in areas of my life but not my LIFE… Why do I keep ignoring the one life coach who is always there and understands completely what I’m going through? Didn’t see that one coming around to hit me. I need to make Jesus Christ my life coach. Who knows better what I need? Thanks, again, Nicole.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I understand, but I also don’t always think it’s wrong to offer our skills and talents for money. Should a doctor work for free? I’m a freelance marketer/writer, and the income I bring in supports my family. I do some writing and promo work for a non-profit for free because I care about it, but overall I don’t think it’s bad to charge for our services. When it comes to service in the church, I think we need to rely on the spirit to help us discern when we should work for free and when we should market and charge. For example, I know a woman who owns a calligraphy business. Her relief society president asked her to design some cards for an event: she looked at the project and determined it would take 12 hours-that’s a lot! She talked to her RS president, and they worked something out. I believe the church compensated her for some of her service. Just my thoughts 😊

    Like

Leave a comment